Baklava Bites

baclavabites

I don’t plan on giving up normal, sugary baking but I’m definitely getting to a point in my life where responsibility is starting to play a larger part in what I eat and cook. Recipes that use nuts or oats instead of flour are more likely to catch my eye, as well as vegan substitutes just because I find them interesting. I don’t know if I would ever be able to give up unhealthy food completely but when I think about how I used to eat I can really notice an improvement. Even just making sure that each meal has heaps of veggies and using less bread can make a big difference. The only thing I am NOT willing to give up is flavour! That’s where these quick little Bites come in.

These are great if you love baklava but don’t have the time or inclination to make the original, you just need a food processor or blender to take care of the nuts. Bonus, all of the flavour without the filo and butter. The peanut butter isn’t a traditional part of baklava but it helps to bind everything together and add even more nuttiness. If you can’t eat peanut butter then try a combination of maple and agave syrup.

Baklava Bites

Adapted from Rachel’s Baklava No-Bake Energy Bites over at Rachel Schultz.

1 1/2 cups pistachios

1/2 cup walnuts

1 tbsp cinnamon

pinch of sea salt

2 tbsp coconut oil

1/4 cup honey (plus more if needed)

3/4 cup peanut butter

1 tsp vanilla extract

Pulse the pistachios and walnuts in a food processor until they are in small chunks then place in a medium bowl and mix in the cinnamon and salt.

In a small saucepan mix together the coconut oil, honey, peanut butter and vanilla.

Heat on low until you can mix everything together easily.

Pour the mixture into the bowl with the nuts and mix in well, if the mixture doesn’t clump together when you squeeze it add in a bit more honey.

Cover the mixture the mixture with cling film and leave until it cools to room temperature, then roll into teaspoon or tablespoon sized balls.

Chill in the fridge for 30 minutes to firm them up.

Leave a comment