Salty Choc Chip Oat Slice

chocoatslice

I felt so grown up today, I had to inform all interested parties about my change of address, something that I’ve been putting off since we moved in December (thank the lawd for mail re-direction). To reward myself I did something not so grown up and watched the episode of Pop Asia that I missed on Sunday (thank the lawd for SBS on Demand). This song is my current favourite. G Dragon, why you so pretty? As someone with a chronic lack of rhythm I’m also jealous of their dance moves. I know that I talk about Pop Asia a lot but if you could peer into my skull it would just be a vision of G Dragon and TOP dancing around a nacho hat and not much else.

If your days are as busy as mine, you need this slice recipe in your life. One bowl and only 20 minutes in the oven and you get a chewy, salty and chocolate-ey mouthful. It makes a biiiig pan of it too, share the love. Or eat the whole thing yourself and never tell a soul. No judgement here, it’s a safe place.

Salty Choc Chip Oat Slice

Slightly adapted from Salty Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Bars over at Cookies and Cups.

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 1/2 cups brown sugar

2 eggs

2 tbsp milk

1 tbsp vanilla extract

1 tsp coarse sea salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 3/4 cups plain flour

2 3/4 cups oats

1 1/2 cups dark choc chips

Preheat oven to 175 C and line a 9 x 13 inch baking tin with baking paper (if your tin is larger or smaller you will have to change the cooking time accordingly), spray the baking paper lightly with oil.

In a large mixing bowl combine the oil, brown sugar, eggs, milk, vanilla and salt, mix well.

Whisk in the baking soda, flour and oats until just combined, then mix in the choc chips.

Transfer to the prepared baking tin, spreading it into an even layer.

Bake for 20 minutes.

Allow to cool for 5 minutes in the tin then slide the slice out onto a wire rack to cool completely (the baking paper helps with this).

Leave a Reply

