Sydney 2015

I felt really bad about not getting any pictures of the food on my last trip to Melbourne so I made an effort to get EXTENSIVE pictures of the food on my Sydney trip (perhaps a little too extensive). The whole week was a joyous blur of sleeping in late, eating, ice cream and walking ( 3-4 hours a day, no wonder I needed so much ice cream to keep my strength up).

pastizzi

Chicken, Bacon and Leek Pastizzi from Pastizzi Cafe in Newtown.

streetart1

Street art, Newtown.

mrcrackles

Crackles Classic Roll, Mr Crackles in Darlinghurst. The pork was so well cooked, the meat yielded like butter but the crackling was cooked to perfection. The baguette was crunchy and chewy, wish I could buy them like that in Brisbane.

cracklingpile

The MOUNTAIN of crackling at Mr Crackles.

streetart2

Street art, Sydney CBD.

gelatoblue

Peanut with Caramel Popcorn (I think?) and Dulce de Leche Ice Cream from Gelato Blue, Newtown. Both flavours were perfect.

koreantacos

Spicy Chicken and Pork Korean Tacos from the Lunar Markets, Pyrmont.

filipinochicken

Filipino Chicken Skewers, Lunar Markets, Pyrmont. These were our first choice at the Lunar Markets but we ate them before I remembered to get a picture. Beautiful sticky marinade and a great smokey flavour.

stickyrice

Thai Mango and Sticky Rice with Lemon Iced Tea, Lunar Markets, Pyrmont. Iced tea was delicious and the mango and sticky rice was a great balance of salty and sweet (when I go to Thailand in April it’s all I’m going to eat!).

sorbetmessina

Passionfruit Sorbet and Salted Coconut with Mango Salsa Ice Cream, Messina, Pyrmont. If there was a Messina in Brisbane I don’t know how I would cope. These are but two of the flavours that I tried on my holiday, we also got the 1.5 L take home pack. In the pack we got Bounty, Milk Chocolate with Choc Peanut Fudge, Caramel Karma (caramel ice cream with roasted nuts and crispy bits) and Strawberry Sorbet.

ramen

Classic ramen (unable to remember the name of the restaurant, will update if I can find it out). This was just a little place in a food court but the broth was off the chiz-ain.

emperorpuff

Emperor Puff from Emperor’s Garden Cake and Bakery, Haymarket. 11 for $3, can you even believe it? If you can look past my crazy sausage fingers in this photo, you’ll see a tiny little treasure that consists of a pan-cakey outside filled with hot vanilla custard. They are cooked fresh right in front of you and you tell the staff how many you want by giving them the exact right change. People line up the block for these in Sydney’s Chinatown (although we were graced with the miracle of getting served right away).

mamak

Roti Canai from Mamak, Haymarket. All roti are cooked fresh to order and served with two curry dips and sambal. We also ordered the Chicken Satay (served with a crazy amount of sauce, perfect for eating with rice), Kari Ayam (chicken curry) and Kari Sayur (lentil and vegetable curry). For dessert we had my favourite Roti Kaya, a roti with coconut and pandan custard (sometimes described as a jam) inside. Great service, the food came quickly and was delicious. You can’t make reservations so the line goes down the street. We waited about half an hour but we weren’t in a hurry and it was totally worth it (especially considering how affordable everything is).

streetart3

Street art, Newtown.

cowmoon

Mango and Peach gelato from Cow and the Moon, Enmore. Another stop on my Ice Cream Odyssey, Cow and the Moon was packed and for good reason. As well as the ice cream pictured above we got their Hokey Pokey and Chocolate Ice Cream but it was melting too quickly to try and get a picture. All of them were smooth and creamy, different from Messina but just as good.

I also had an amazing meal at LP’s Quality Meats with my aunt and uncle but it was too dark to take any pictures. We had the smoked beef tongue, BBQ beef short rib, BBQ chicken, pickles and iceberg and pecorino salad. It was my first time trying beef tongue and I loved it. They sliced it paper thin, drenched it olive oil and parsley then served it with olives and mustard. The texture took a little adjustment, somewhat like a pastrami or cured meat but softer. Everything we ordered was delicious but the highlight was the BBQ chicken. It was the juiciest chicken I have ever eaten, I don’t know how they cook it for the first round but they deep fry it before serving to make the skin perfectly crispy. I would happily go back there and just eat the chicken. Thank you for the delicious meal Ty and Ness!

And thank you to Anaya, who put me up and looked after me like she was my Sugar Momma. You’ll be getting a thank you gift in the mail, you know what it’s going to be!

Leave a Reply

