Honey Peanut Butter Ice Cream with Dark Chocolate Swirl

pbicecream

The last few months have been hectic but satisfying. I’m working more which makes me really appreciate my leisure time. The way I’m choosing to spend my down time at the moment is basking in the glory that is Bridezillas. Watching crazy people makes me feel normal by comparison and I can’t help but point out to The Boyfriend how happy he should be with me. My immersion is getting to the point that hysterically yelling “I’m calling off the wedding!” is becoming the normal response to any kind of opposition. The best part is definitely the passive aggressive narration, it really is a cut above normal reality show standards. It has also strengthened decision to never, ever help anyone to plan and execute a wedding (sorry, Sarah).

With less time for recreational cooking I have to get my priorities in order and with the humidity that the citizens of Brisbane are subjected to on a daily basis, ice cream is very much at the top of my list. I’m still working my way through Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home and loving every minute of it. I had all of the ingredients for this in my fridge and pantry, my favourite kind of recipe. Whenever I try to drip chocolate into ice cream to create freckles, it reaches a critical point where the chocolate starts clogging up the spinning blade in my machine. Rather than blow my motor I find that it’s easier to layer the rest of the chocolate in the tub with the ice cream. If you have a fancier ice cream machine than me you might not even run into this problem (and if having your ice cream machine jam up with chocolate isn’t a first world problem, I don’t know what is).

Honey Peanut Butter Ice Cream with Dark Chocolate Swirl

Adapted from The Buckeye State Ice Cream from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home.

2 cups milk

1 tbsp plus 1 tsp cornflour

3 tbsp cream cheese, room temperature

1/2 cup peanut butter (if using salted, omit the salt from the recipe)

1/2 tsp fine sea salt

1 1/4 cups thickened cream

2/3 cup caster sugar

2 tbsp glucose syrup

2 tbsp honey

115g dark chocolate

2 tbsp coconut oil

In a small bowl mix together 3 tbsp of milk with the cornstarch to create a slurry, set aside.

In a bowl large enough to hold the finished mixture whisk together the cream cheese, peanut butter and salt (if using) until smooth, set aside.

In a medium saucepan combine the remaining milk, cream, sugar, glucose and honey, bring up to a boil over medium heat and boil for 4 minutes.

Remove from the heat, whisk in the cornstarch slurry, return to the heat and stir for 1 minute until mixture has thickened.

Remove from the heat and gradually whisk into the prepared peanut butter mixture until smooth.

Cover the mixture with cling film, pressing it down on to the surface to prevent a skin forming.

Chill overnight in the fridge.

Churn according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

While the mixture is churning, melt the chocolate and coconut oil together, stirring until smooth.

In the last minute of churning, start drizzling in the chocolate mixture (if the chocolate starts jamming up the machine, layer the chocolate in the tub with the ice cream instead).

Transfer the mixture into a 1L capacity container and freeze overnight.

2 thoughts on “Honey Peanut Butter Ice Cream with Dark Chocolate Swirl

  1. Love, love, love Jeni’s ice cream! I am fortunate to live in Ohio,USA so I have actually been to a Jeni’s ice cream store. Wonderful! I also like to make my own ice cream and always use Jeni’s recipes! I’ve made the The Buckeye State ice cream (the Buckeye State is Ohio’s nickname) and is is delicious! The addition of honey would take it over the top! Thanks for the inspiration! P.S. I have a KitchenAid ice cream freezer and don’t have a problem with jamming.

    • I’m so jealous! I would have trouble controlling myself if I lived anywhere close to Jeni’s. I think that if I keep making ice cream this this rate I’ll have to invest in something more heavy duty like your Kitchen Aid 😛

Leave a Reply

