Jalapeño Cheddar Cornbread

cornbread5

This is the cornbread I’ve been waiting for. Crumbly, not too sweet and peppered with little green specks of jalapeño. The fact that there is a whole 1 1/2 cups of cheese in the batter sure doesn’t hurt either. I baked this for my Chilli con Carne spree so in the words of Latrice Royale, my favourite drag queen, SOP IT UP!

I baked my bread in an 8 X 8 inch slice tin that turned out to be the perfect size but use any kind of tin that you have, just reduce the cooking time for tins that are bigger than 8 X 8 inches. I never have buttermilk in the house so I make it as I need it by stirring 1 tbsp of lemon juice or white vinegar into 1 cup of milk and letting it sit for 10 minutes.

Jalapeño Cheddar Cornbread

Adapted from Piquant Cornbread over at Saveur.

1 cup polenta

1 cup plain flour

2 tbsp caster sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp chilli flakes

3/4 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup milk

75g butter

1 egg

1 1/2 cups grated cheddar cheese

2 jalapeños, chopped finely (de-seeded if you like it mild)

Preheat the oven to 200 C and spray an 8 X 8 inch baking tin with oil.

In a large mixing bowl whisk together the polenta, flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cumin and chilli flakes.

In small saucepan combine the buttermilk, milk and butter, heat on very low until the butter has just melted then whisk in the egg.

Pour the wet mixture into the dry ingredients and mix until just combined.

Fold in the cheese and jalapeños then transfer to the prepared baking tin, smoothing the top with a spatula.

Bake for 30 minutes then allow to rest on a wire rack for 10 minutes before slicing.

Serve warm.

7 thoughts on “Jalapeño Cheddar Cornbread

  1. Pingback: Chilli con Carne | Not for Coco

  2. Hi Ainsley,
    I made the jalapeno corn bread and loved it. When I went to make it though, my polenta had little weavels in it, so instead I used a combination of oats and oat bran to make up the one cup of missing polenta – and it still worked!
    Love your little trick with the vinegar in the milk, because I don’t have buttermilk in the pantry either.
    Just had the cornbread for lunch: sliced thickly, toasted on the sandwich toaster and avocado slathered on, with some lemon, salt and pepper – yum!
    Love your blog! 🙂

    • I’m so glad your substitutions worked, I get real cranky when I try to change something and it doesn’t work out 😛 Definitely going to give your lunch a try, I’m a sucker for avocado and lemon.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Menu Saturday 27th December 2014 | Not for Coco

  4. Pingback: Tropical Smoothie | Not for Coco

  5. Pingback: Weekly Menu Saturday 12th September 2015 | Not for Coco

Leave a Reply

