Lime Sherbet

limepieicecream

I nearly spelled the title ‘Lime Sherbert’, good thing I googled it to double check. What can I say, I watched a lot of Austin Powers as a child. I call this a sherbet because the combination of lime juice and creamy dairy creates an ice-cream that almost feels like it’s fizzing in your mouth, like a Fruit Tingle! I came across the original recipe over at Smitten Kitchen, a food blog that has sentimental value for me because it was the first one I ever started reading. Deb’s writing is personal and accessible, her recipes are no different. I have made minimal changes to the ingredients in the recipe but I changed the method from popsicles to a churned ice-cream. The popsicles are divine and so easy to make but I don’t like my ice-cream intake to be restricted to one little popsicle, so I decided to churn it like a traditional mixture. If you are a lover of all things sour and tangy I only have good things to say about this recipe. Popsicles or ice-cream, whip this up.

Lime Sherbet

Adapted from Deb’s Key Lime Pie Popsicles over at Smitten Kitchen.

4-5 limes

1 tin (395g) sweetened condensed milk

1/2 cup thickened cream

1/2 cup milk

big pinch of salt

Juice the limes until you have 3/4 cup lime juice.

Whisk together the lime juice, condensed milk, cream, milk and salt until well combined (it will get quite thick, don’t worry).

Cover with cling film and chill in the fridge for 3-4 hours (if all of your ingredients are cold to start off with reduce this time to 1 hour).

Churn in an ice-cream machine according to manufacturer’s instructions.

Transfer to a 1 L capacity container and freeze for 4 hours before eating.

Leave a Reply

