Moist Brownies (Gluten Free)

brownie

If these brownies are the essential chewy brownies then this recipe makes the essential dense and fudgey brownies. My autocorrect just tried to tell me that fudgey isn’t a word but I won’t believe it. It was also my first choice to use my brand spankin’ new 2.5kg bag of Callebaut chocolate and Valrhona cocoa powder (you jelly?). The Callebaut is 70% cocoa which results in a VERY rich brownie so use a good quality milk chocolate if you don’t think you can handle it. I choose to make these gluten free because it caters to the biggest crowd but the original recipe calls for 80g plain flour so use that instead if being GF isn’t an issue for you. These babies are so moist that it’s a good idea to let them chill in the fridge before cutting them, just to get a cleaner cut.

I’m writing this while watching the Masterchef finale, probably the most relaxing one I’ve ever seen. I might just like Brent and Laura the exact same amount? I don’t always get into Masterchef because I get sick of the drama and just end up yelling “For the love of God cook some food!” at the TV but I’ve caught the tail end of this series and it’s sucked me in. I come for the food but I stay for the way George says “BUTTAH”.

Moist Brownies (Gluten Free)

I’ve had this recipe for so long that all I know is that it’s from a newspaper.¬†Adapted from anonymous newspaper.

200g dark chocolate

200g butter

3 eggs

220g caster sugar

1/4 tsp sea salt

80g almond meal

60g cocoa powder

100g dark chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 160 C and line a slice tin with baking paper.

Melt the dark chocolate and butter together in the microwave and set aside to cool slightly (I do 1 minute bursts on 80% but every microwave is different).

In a mixing bowl large enough to hold the finished mixture combine the eggs and sugar, beat with an electric mixer until pale and doubled in volume.

Pour in the chocolate and butter mixture, beat until fully combined (make sure to scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl with a spatula).

Add in the salt, almond meal and cocoa and beat until fully combined.

Mix in the chocolate chips then transfer to the prepared slice tin, spreading it into an even layer with a spatula.

Bake for 30 minutes then allow to cool in the tin.

Leave a Reply

