Chewy Brownies (Gluten Free)

brownie2

I made a decision to start buying my chocolate chips and cocoa powder in bulk and my search led me to Paragon Foods. I found Valhrona cocoa powder for $30 a kilo, I have never even seen it in specialty baking shops! Check it out if you live in Australia and go through baking supplies like a fiend. As it is I’ve banned myself from buying choc chips until my big bag arrives so I’ve been on the look out for any recipes that don’t require too many ingredients other than what I already have in my pantry.

The fact that these brownies are gluten free doesn’t mean that you’re missing out on anything, in fact I think it helps with the chewiness that is everything I look for in a brownie. The original recipe used walnut meal and walnut oil but I just used what I had, do the same if you don’t have the exact same ingredients. If you have a larger slice pan it might be a good idea to double the recipe because the mixture is spread pretty thin already in a 8 X 8 slice tin.

Chewy Brownies (Gluten Free)

Adapted from Megan’s Brownie Thins over at A Sweet Spoonful.

3/4 cup almond meal

1/4 cup corn flour

1/2 cup raw sugar

6 tbsp cocoa powder

1/4 tsp fine salt

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 large egg

Preheat the oven to 150 C and line a 8 X 8 inch slice tin with baking paper.

In a medium bowl mix together the almond meal, corn flour, sugar, cocoa powder and salt.

In a small bowl whisk together the oil, vanilla extract and egg then pour it into the dry ingredients and mix well.

Transfer the mixture into the prepared slice tin and press down into an even layer.

Bake for 30 minutes then allow to cool completely on a rack before cutting into squares.

One thought on “Chewy Brownies (Gluten Free)

  1. Pingback: Moist Brownies (Gluten Free) | Not for Coco

Leave a Reply

