Cookies ‘n’ Cream Ice-cream

cookieicecream

This ain’t your nanna’s ice-cream. It’s the most luscious vanilla ice-cream studded with the most addictive (at least for my sister and I) cookies. Cannot stop eating! I actually used 2 less egg yolks than the original recipe and it’s still the best vanilla ice-cream I’ve made. I don’t usually plan to make custard based ice-creams but recently I’ve made this Marshmallow Icing a few times and it leaves me with the perfect amount of egg yolks for a batch, lucky me. Easy projects like this have been keeping me sane while I’m in quarantine, a whole week stuck at home with no energy. Want to know how desperate I got? I started watching Dawson’s Creek! And Sex and the City, although if I’m going to be really honest I started watching it before I got sick. I swear, is Carrie the most self-obsessed character you’ve ever seen? At this point I’m not so much watching because I enjoy it but rather so I can get all my frustration out by screaming at the TV whenever Carrie does something stupid. It’s also a great way to get some alone time in the lounge room because it naturally drives all of the menfolk away.

If you’ve never made a custard before just stir it over medium-low heat so that there is less chance of over cooking it, it will take longer but better safe than sorry.

Cookies ‘n’ Cream Ice-cream

Adapted from David Lebovitz’s Vanilla Ice Cream in The Perfect Scoop.

2 cups milk

3/4 cup caster sugar

1 cup thickened cream

large pinch of salt

4 tsp vanilla bean syrup

4 egg yolks

3 tbsp liqueur (I used Frangelico but would have used a vanilla liqueur if I had one)

200g chocolate sandwich cookies (I used Oreos)

Place 1 cup of the milk in a bowl large enough to hold the final mixture and place a strainer over the top.

In a medium saucepan combine the remaining milk, sugar, cream and salt and stir over medium heat until warmed through, then thoroughly mix in the vanilla bean syrup.

In a medium bowl whisk together the egg yolks then pour over the warmed milk mixture, whisking constantly, then pour it all back into the saucepan.

Place the saucepan back on medium heat and stir constantly with a spatula, making sure to scrape the bottom of the saucepan.

Stir until the mixture thickens and coats the back of the spatula then pour the custard through the strainer into the prepared bowl with the milk in it.

Take the strainer off the bowl and add in the liqueur, mix together well.

Cover with cling film, pressing it down onto the surface of the custard to prevent a skin forming.

Place in the fridge and let it chill overnight.

Churn the custard in an ice-cream machine according to manufacturer’s instruction, while it is churning crush the cookies into pea sized pieces by placing them in a ziplock bag and bashing them with a rolling pin.

When the ice-cream has finished churning, mix in the crushed cookies then transfer to a 1L capacity container (this recipe made a little bit more than 1L for me but that will change depending on your ice-cream machine).

Chill in the freezer for 4 hours before eating.

Leave a Reply

