Strawberry and Marshmallow Cupcakes

strawberrycake

You might be starting to think that I survive solely by eating cupcakes and baked goods. As much as I love cupcakes I can’t slam them down in the same way that I can eat a packet of corn chips or other savoury delights (anyone who has witnessed me eating Dorito’s is never quite the same again). I get rid of most of my surplus by sending them to our various places of employment and earning some serious brownie points. Although sweet stuff might not be my favourite thing to eat, it is most definitely my favourite stuff to cook. I find baking therapeutic and putting food in peoples mouths extremely satisfying.

I was inspired to bake by these gorgeous Eton Mess Cupcakes but I also had a hankering to try a Marshmallow Frosting recipe that I’ve had saved on my Pinterest for a while. Apparently it tastes like a spreadable marshmallow fluff that is popular in the US but I have never had the original. To me it tastes like soft and smooth meringue, a perfect match for strawberries. I added the toasted almonds for crunch and because I just can’t stop sprankling them on everything I make. The almonds soften over time so eat on the day they’re made while they’re still crunchy. The icing recipe makes more than enough to generously decorate the cupcakes and then some, so I piped out the rest onto baking trays and baked them at 90 C for 2 hours to make little meringues.

strawberrycupcakes2

I found the strawberry flavour in the the cake pretty subtle but you can always jack it up with some strawberry essence. I wouldn’t recommend adding more strawberries unless you add more dry ingredients to compensate for the extra moisture.

Strawberry and Marshmallow Cupcakes

Cupcake recipe adapted from Sally’s Fresh Strawberry Cupcakes over at Sally’s Baking Addiction.

Icing recipe adapted from Marshmallow Frosting over at Pixels and Paperie.

Strawberry Cupcakes:

4-5 large strawberries

3/4 cup milk

1 2/3 cup plus 1 tbsp plain flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup caster sugar

115g butter, melted

1 large egg

1/4 cup yoghurt

1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 175 C, line a 12 hole muffin tin with paper liners.

Hull the strawberries and place in a blender with the milk, process until the strawberries are completely blended into the milk.

In a bowl large enough to hold the finished mixture whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In a large bowl mix together the sugar, melted butter, egg, yoghurt, vanilla extract and the strawberry milk.

Pour the wet mixture into the dry and mix well to combine, scraping the bottom and sides of the bowl.

Divide the batter between the 12 paper liner and bake for 20 minutes.

Allow to rest in the tin for 5 minutes then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

 

Marshmallow Icing:

3/4 cup flaked almonds

4 large egg whites

1 cup caster sugar

a pinch of salt

1 tsp vanilla extract

Place the flaked almonds in a small saucepan over medium heat, stir until toasted and light brown, transfer onto a plate to cool.

Mix the egg whites, sugar and salt in a metal mixing bowl, place over a saucepan of simmering water (make sure that the water doesn’t touch the bottom of the bowl).

Whisk the egg mixture constantly until the sugar dissolves and the mixture is hot to the touch.

Take the metal bowl off the heat and beat the egg whites with an electric mixer for 3-5 minutes until the mixture has become fluffy and light.

Pipe or spread onto the completely cooled cupcakes.

Sprinkle the toasted almonds onto the iced cupcakes, alternatively roll the sides of the icing in the toasted almonds.

3 thoughts on “Strawberry and Marshmallow Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Cookies ‘n’ Cream Ice-cream | Not for Coco

Leave a Reply

