Chocolate Coconut Muffins

IMG_0791[1]

I first made these on my recent lightning trip to Perth. My cousin and I rustled them up for an impromptu afternoon tea and she chose the flavour combo, one munch and I was hooked. I am a chocolate fiend but I always forget how well it pairs with other flavours, especially nuts and fruits. The coconut that is sprinkled on top gets all toasty and crunchy in the oven, every time I bake these my sprinkling hand gets looser and looser with the coconut.

IMG_0788[1]

I’m trying to incorporate wholemeal flour into more of my baking which adds a nice nuttiness to muffins but if you need to whip these up quickly and don’t have any around the house just use all plain flour. Same idea with the brown sugar, I’ve added it for its treacle-y-ness but just use all caster sugar if it’s easier. I added white chocolate chips because my sister pressured me into it, add your favourite chocolate or go for a mixture. What’s next for these muffins? An addition of fresh or dried fruit for a bit of tartness.

Chocolate and Coconut Muffins

Adapted from Rachel’s Classic Muffins over at Rachel Schultz.

1 cup wholemeal flour

1 cup plain flour

1/2 cup caster sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1 tbsp baking powder

3/4 cup milk

4 tbsp butter

1/4 cup vegetable oil

2 eggs

2 tbsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup moist coconut flakes, plus extra for sprinkling

1 packet dark choc chips, plus extra for sprinkling

1/2 cup white choc chips, plus extra for sprinkling

Preheat oven to 175 C, line a 12 hole muffin tin with paper liners.

In a large mixing bowl combine the flours, sugars, salt and baking powder, mix well.

Add in the moist coconut flakes, dark and white choc chips, mix until evenly distributed and set aside.

In a small saucepan over low heat combine the milk, butter and vegetable oil, stir until the butter has just melted then whisk in the eggs and vanilla extract.

Pour the milk mixture into the dry ingredients and mix until just combined, making sure to scrape the bottom and sides of the bowl.

Divide the batter between the 12 paper liners, sprinkle over the reserved choc chips and coconut then bake for 25-30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

