Honey Wholemeal English Muffin Bread

IMG_0775[1]

I thought that my first go at English Muffin Bread was a winner but I tinkered with the recipe, inspired by this post over at The Sugar Hit and I think that I’ve found my forever bread. It took me quite a few goes to get it right, they all tasted good but my loaves kept sinking in the middle. After a bit of googling I realised that it was because I put a whole 1/4 cup of honey in without taking out any of the milk (duh!). My only other issue was that when I baked the bread in my regular loaf tin it resulted in long and thin slices of bread that had to be grilled because they didn’t fit in the toaster. This resulted in quite a few ‘well done’ pieces of toast because I would get distracted and forget about it until I smelled it burning. Once I realised that this bread was here to stay I invested in a taller, narrower style of loaf tin to solve my First World toaster problem. This bread is so right up my alley, I have been baking it at least once a week and keeping it in the freezer for a quick snack or to dunk in soup. The sweetness of the honey goes so well with savoury flavours but would be just as nice with jam or marmalade. My favourite way to eat it is slathered in butter with a sprinkle of sea salt. Heaven, I tells ya! One of the reasons that I fell head over heels for this recipe is because it’s major flavour for minimum effort. Mix everything together, let it rest, scrape it into the bread tin, let it rest then bake. As far as bread recipes go it’s one of the easiest I’ve tried.

I’m glad I found this recipe because I don’t know how else to use all of the cornmeal in my cupboard. You can definitely make the recipe without it but it adds a very English Muffin-ey crunch to the crust. In Australia it’s sold as polenta.

Honey Wholemeal English Muffin Bread

Adapted from Tim’s English Muffin Bread over at Lottie + Doof and Sarah’s Honey Whole Wheat English Muffins over at The Sugar Hit.

1 1/4 cups wholemeal flour

1 1/4 cups bread flour

2 1/4 tsp instant yeast

1 tsp table salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 1/4 cups milk

1/4 cup honey

cornmeal for dusting

Preheat oven to 190 C.

Spray a loaf tin with oil then dust liberally with cornflour.

Mix everything together (except for the milk and honey) in a large mixing bowl until well combined, set aside.

In a small saucepan combine the milk and honey, heating on medium heat until it reaches 48 C/ 120 F.

Pour the milk mixture into the mixing bowl with the dry ingredients, mix until everything is moistened and well combined.

Spray the top of the dough with oil and cover mixing bowl with cling film, allow to rise in a warm place for 30 minutes.

Deflate the dough and transfer to the prepared loaf tin, using a greased spatula to push it into the corners.

Spray dough with oil again and cover with cling film, allow to rise in a warm place for another 30 minutes.

Discard cling film and bake for 30 minutes until the top of the bread is well browned.

Turn out immediately onto a cooling rack, allow to cool completely before slicing.

Leave a Reply

