Brownie Bites

IMG_0713[1]

These cookies are basically portable, personal brownies. I came across the recipe randomly on Pinterest and it was the best thing to happen to me all week. I had been scouting for a recipe to make as a birthday present for the Boyfriend’s sister and I knew I had found The One. My suspicions were confirmed when two family member’s who were lucky enough to score some asked me for the recipe. Not to mention that they only have four tablespoons of butter in them, which basically makes them a health food! (Tell me I’m not the only one who tries to delude themselves like this).

IMG_0710[1]

Be sure to read the original recipe, I feel like it really highlights the importance of LETTING YOUR CHOCOLATE THICKEN! If your mixture is too soft your cookies will spread and dry out. Apparently they still taste pretty good but don’t have the fudge-y-ness of the cookies done correctly. When I found that my mixture was too soft I let the mixture sit, washed up the dishes, cleaned the kitchen and by the time I was done the mixture had become stiffer and resulted in the lovely thick cookies pictured above. There is so little flour in this recipe so I think I might experiment with almond meal to make a gluten free version. I have listed one packet of dark chocolate chips in the recipe but I also had some white ones so I chucked them in as well.

Brownie Bites

Adapted from Julia’s Outrageous chocolate cookies over at Julia’s Album.

200g 70% dark chocolate, chopped

4 tbsp unsalted butter

2/3 cup plain flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 large eggs

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 packet dark choc chips

Preheat oven to 175 C, line a baking tray with baking paper and spray it with cooking oil.

Heat the dark chocolate and butter together in the microwave in 20 second bursts, mixing in between (you want the chocolate to be just melted, the consistency of peanut butter).

If you melt the chocolate too much and it becomes runny, allow it to sit at room temperature until it becomes very thick (the consistency of peanut butter).

In a separate bowl mix together the flour, baking powder and salt, set aside.

In a mixing bowl large enough to hold the finished mixture combine the eggs, sugar and vanilla, beat with a hand mixer until it becomes pale and fluffy.

Mix in the melted chocolate, then mix in the flour until just combined, lastly add the choc chips and mix in by hand.

The mixture should have the consistency of a normal, stiff cookie dough, if it doesn’t hold it’s shape when scooped, allow it to sit at room temperature until it becomes quite firm.

Drop spoonfuls of mixture onto the prepared baking tray, allowing room for spreading.

Bake for 12-15 minutes, checking at 12 mins to see if the cookies have developed a light, cracked crust on them (bake for a few minutes more if the crust hasn’t developed yet).

Cool on the baking paper until they reach room temperature.

Leave a Reply

