Mango Sorbet

mangosorbet

Sorbet eating at my house usually involves my sister and I passing the container back and forth while standing in the kitchen, putting it back in the freezer for a while when the edges get melty. As much as I love waffle cones I much prefer them for pairing with creamy ice-creams rather than fruity ones. I have always eaten my sorbet plain but when I become an adult and start throwing elegant dinner parties I want to pour sparkling white wine over scoops of sorbet like I saw Nigella do in Nigella Feasts (a really awesome series if you need ideas for feeding large groups of people).

This is one of my favourite sorbet recipe’s, mostly because it’s possible to swap out caster sugar for healthier sweeteners without sacrificing texture. There is something special about mango that results in a soft, scoopable mixture without having to add a lot of refined sugar. I have also made this sorbet using stevia granules with great success. Mangoes aren’t in season right now, I cheated a little bit and used frozen mango (as an Australian I feel pretty bad admitting that). For the brightest flavour be patient and use fresh mangoes but if you just can’t wait, frozen ones still work outrageously well. Swap out the honey for a different sweetener such as agave syrup to make this vegan friendly. The rum in this recipe helps to achieve a nice soft sorbet but you can leave it out if you’re making this for children or anyone else who can’t have alcohol.

Mango Sorbet

Adapted from David Lebovitz’s Mango Sorbet in The Perfect Scoop.

500g mango, or the flesh of 2 large mangoes

1/2 cup water

1/4 cup honey (this is what I ended up adding but start with less and add more if you need it)

juice of 1 lime

pinch of salt

3 tbsp rum

Place all of the ingredients in a blender, pulse until combined.

Taste and adjust with honey or lime juice to personal taste (remember that the flavours will be slightly muted when it’s cold).

Chill overnight then churn in an ice-cream machine according to manufacturers instructions.

Transfer mixture to a 1 litre capacity container and chill for 4 hours before eating.

Leave a Reply

