Guacamole

IMG_0531[1]

This dip was an eye opener for me about how little I knew about Mexican food. I grew up eating meals made from Old El Paso taco and burrito kits and putting sour cream in guacamole. We loved it but had no idea what we were missing. As far as I can tell Mexican food is based around super fresh ingredients and there is ALWAYS coriander. I still get a nostalgic craving for the packet Mexican but every time I think about cooking it I’m always drawn back to the fresh stuff.

IMG_0520[1]

I can eat a whole bowl of this stuff and because there is nothing heavy in it I don’t feel sick afterwards (like I used to with my white-people guacamole). Serve as a dip with corn chips or use it as a condiment with any Mexican inspired meal (I serve it with Mexican Chicken).

Guacamole

Adapted from Guadalupe Feint’s Guacamole dip over at SBS Food.

3 large ripe avocados

1/2 fresh jalapeno, de-seeded, chopped finely

4 tbsp coriander, finely chopped

1/4 red onion, finely chopped

1 large tomato, finely chopped

1/2 lime, juiced

1 tsp sea salt

If you prefer a more mellow onion flavour, mix the red onion with the lime juice and salt, allow to sit for 10 mins.

Halve the avocados, remove the seed and scoop the flesh into the bowl with the onion.

Add the chilli and coriander, mash everything together with a fork.

Fold in the tomato and taste for seasoning.

Best served immediately.

7 thoughts on “Guacamole

  1. Pingback: Mexican Chicken | not for coco

  2. Pingback: Weekly Menu Saturday 17th May 2014 | not for coco

  3. Pingback: Weekly Menu 24th May 2014 | not for coco

  4. Pingback: Korean Burritos (Koritos!) | Not for Coco

  5. Pingback: Weekly Menu Saturday 20th September 2014 | Not for Coco

  6. Pingback: Weekly Menu Saturday 6th December 2014 | Not for Coco

  7. Pingback: Weekly Menu Sunday 14th June 2015 | Not for Coco

Leave a Reply

