Kinako (Roasted Soybean) Ice-cream

IMG_0500[1]

It’s a pretty innocent looking ice-cream at first glance but once you have a lick you won’t know what’s happening. It’s nutty but like no nut you’ve ever tasted. It’s toasty like popcorn but having tasted my Caramel Popcorn Ice-cream I can tell you it’s subtler. It’s better not to tell people what flavour it is before handing them a cone of it, the idea of a soybean ice-cream seems to be off-putting for some people. Saying that, though, I have a friend who we have recently nicknamed ‘Two Veg’ because of his reserved eating preferences and after a taste of this he requested the same two scoop cone that I was dishing out to everyone else.

IMG_0501[1]

I made the mistake of going to town on the tub of ice-cream before remembering I needed to take photos of it, hence the sad little scoop that I was able to salvage at the last minute. I picked up the kinako from my much-frequented Korean supermarket in the Brisbane CBD but in his book The Perfect Scoop David Lebovitz suggests poking around in Japanese supermarkets as well. I say this ice-cream is inspired by his recipe because although I used kinako as the main flavouring I chose to do a cornflour based ice-cream mixture rather than the egg-based custard that David uses in his book. The Perfect Scoop is one of my much-loved and most used cookbooks and anyone getting into their ice-cream making should consider purchasing it. I also bought it for my best friend when she was gifted an ice-cream machine, mainly because I wanted someone to gush to about it.

I used glucose syrup but if it’s easier to get use light corn syrup.

Kinako Ice-cream

Inspired by David Lebovitz’s Kinako Ice Cream from The Perfect Scoop.

2 cups full fat milk

3 tbsp cornflour

1/2 tsp sea salt

3 tbsp cream cheese

1 1/4 cups cream

2/3 cup caster sugar

2 tbsp glucose syrup

6 tbsp kinako (roasted soybean powder)

Mix 1/4 cup of the milk with the cornflour, set aside.

In a bowl large enough to fit the finished ice-cream mixture combine the cream cheese and salt, whisking well to combine, set aside.

In a medium saucepan combine the remaining 1 3/4 cups milk, cream, sugar and corn syrup.

Bring to the boil slowly over medium heat and boil for 4 minutes (don’t get impatient and turn the heat up too high, it can cause the mixture to boil over).

Remove the saucepan from the heat and slowly whisk in the cornflour mixture, return to the heat and boil for 1 minute, stirring with a spatula.

Remove the saucepan from the heat and whisk in the kinako powder.

Cover the ice-cream mixture with cling film, pressing it onto the surface to prevent a skin forming.

Chill in the fridge until completely cold.

Freeze in an ice-cream machine according to manufacturers instructions.

When the ice-cream is churned transfer it to a 1 L capacity container and chill in the freezer for at least 4 hours before eating.

Leave a Reply

