English Muffin Bread

IMG_0390[1] This bread tastes like ENGLISH MUFFINS! I don’t know about you but I was built on those babies. Nothing was as easy to make quickly than an English muffin smothered in butter and in high school the after school snack of choice was a little English muffin pizza. I don’t buy them very often anymore because I don’t eat as much bread as I used to and I try to steer away from things that I can’t easily make myself. It probably would only have been a matter of time before I tried home made English muffins but from the recipes I’ve seen it’s a multi-step process (more steps than this recipe, I mean). I’m not one to shy away from a complicated recipe but if I can get great results from something simpler that also makes less dishes to wash up then I’m on board.

The bread doesn’t taste very good unless it’s toasted, the same way that an English Muffin doesn’t either. I’m not sure how long the loaf would last in the fridge because I sliced mine up straight away and popped it in the freezer. This would be a great recipe for anyone interested in getting started with bread baking but feels a little intimidated by the whole process. There is no kneading and the resting time is relatively short. I bet this bread would make a really nice egg and bacon breakfast sandwich, too.

English Muffin Bread

Adapted from Tim’s English Muffin Bread over at Lottie + Doof.

2 1/2 cups bread flour

2 1/4 tsp instant yeast

1/2 tbsp caster sugar

1 tsp table salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 cups full-fat milk, heated to 48 C/ 120 F

cornmeal for dusting

Preheat oven to 190 C.

Grease a bread tin and dust with cornmeal.

Combine the bread flour, yeast, sugar, salt and baking soda in a large bowl.

Stir in the warm milk and mix until well combined.

Cover dough with plastic wrap and allow to rise in a warm place for 30 mins.

Stir the dough to deflate and transfer to the prepared bread tin, using a greased spatula to push it into the corners.

Spray the dough with oil and cover with plastic wrap, allow to rise for 30 mins in a warm place.

Discard plastic wrap and bake bread for 30 mins, until well browned on top.

Turn out bread onto a wire rack and allow to cool completely before slicing.

Best served toasted.

One thought on “English Muffin Bread

  1. Pingback: Spiced Yellow Split Pea Soup | Not for Coco

Leave a Reply

