Failsafe Scones

IMG_0353[1] This recipe has never let me down and I hope that it’s the same for you. I pass it on with my blessings. It’s the type of recipe that I just have to scribble down when people tell me they’ve never been good at scones. Neither was I, until this recipe found me. My favourite thing about it? No rubbing butter into flour! I hate the feeling of running flour between my fingers and the way it gets stuck under my fingernails. This also means it’s much quicker. I can turn these out in 20 mins (or I could if my oven didn’t take 20 mins to preheat!). IMG_0351[1] If you roll it out thinner than 1.5 cm then the scones will still be fluffy and delicious but they won’t have that gorgeous puffed up look to them. If you want to do mini scones roll the dough out slightly thinner and check them after 8 mins in the oven. I find that scone cutters are my preference because they have a really sharp edge that helps the scones to rise, but a drinking glass turned upside down and dipped in flour works well if you don’t think you make scones enough to invest in specialty tools.

This is how much I love this recipe. I framed it.

This is how much I love this recipe. I framed it.

This is probably one of my favourite things that decorate the house. A friend of mine bought a typewriter and when she presented me with some lovely paper and told me to type anything I wanted, all I could think of was this great scone recipe I had been making lately. It was in a dinky $2 store frame for a while until I found this pretty oval one. If you know anyone with a typewriter or if you have really nice handwriting I think a framed recipe would make a really nice present.

Failsafe Scones

Adapted from Matt Preston’s recipe for Date and Lemon Scones from Taste.

3 cups self-raising flour

2 tbsp caster sugar

pinch of salt

150ml milk

150ml cream

1 egg

Preheat oven to 200C.

In a large bowl whisk together the flour, sugar and salt.

In a separate bowl whisk together the milk, cream and egg.

Add the wet mix into the dry and stir with a bread knife until the mixture is just combined.

Turn out onto a well floured surface, dust the top with flour and roll out to 1.5cm thick.

With a medium scone cutter cut out rounds and lay them on a lined baking tray.

When you have cut as many rounds as possible, recombine the dough and roll out to 1.5cm again, cut rounds and repeat until all dough is used.

Bake scones for 10-12 mins, until the tops are light brown and the bottom sounds hollow when tapped.

8 thoughts on “Failsafe Scones

  1. just a tip from my ex mother in law aka “The Scone Queen” …. don’t twist your scone cutter as you press out the scone, just press straight down. Twisting make it harder for the scone to rise apparently.

  2. Hi Ainsley – Anaya suggested I try your recipe for scones. I did them today and just want to say – YAY! They were almost perfect…. 9/10. Next time I will use a glass not an egg ring to cut them out … Yum…

  3. Pingback: Weekly Menu Sunday 12th July 2015 | Not for Coco

  4. Pingback: Weekly Menu Sunday 26th July 2015 | Not for Coco

Leave a Reply

