Blueberry Muffins

IMG_0303[1]

You know that feeling when a piece of the puzzle just slides into place? My first taste of these muffins had dat feel. I’ve tried quite a few muffin recipes looking for THE recipe, the one to write down in my recipe book, but none of them had me coming back for more. These are my perfect muffin. Brown on the outside, airy but substantial in the middle and studded with pockets of jammy blueberries.

IMG_0298[1]

I use frozen blueberries because fresh ones can be up to $5 for a weeny little punnet whereas the 1 kg bags of frozen go for $9. Bonus, the frozen ones last indefinitely and I can whip up a batch of these whenever the mood takes me, which has been twice soon to be three times this week. The muffins themselves freeze amazingly well, only taking 30 seconds in the microwave to bring them back to their former glory.

IMG_0301[1]

I find the easiest and neatest way to divide the batter into the tin is with a large ice-cream scoop (one of the kind that have the scraper in them). I bought a set of ice-cream scoops in three different sizes from eBay and I use the smallest for cookies, medium for small cupcakes and the largest for muffins. In the original recipe the butter is melted by itself and added to the other wet ingredients but I have a fear of warm butter seizing in cold milk so I warmed it all in a saucepan together.  I am yet to experiment with other flavours because I’m just so smitten with blueberry but I think lemon and poppy seed will be next on my list.

Blueberry Muffins

Very slightly adapted from Rachel’s Blueberry Muffins over at Rachel Schultz.

2 cups plain flour

1 cup caster sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup vegetable oil

4 tbsp butter

1 tsp vanilla essence

2 eggs

3/4 cup milk

1 1/4 cups frozen or fresh blueberries (more if you’re a berry fiend)

Preheat oven to 175 C.

Line a 12 hole muffin tray with paper liners.

Whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.

In a small saucepan combine milk and butter, warm over a low heat until the butter is just melted.

Add vegetable oil, vanilla essence and eggs to the milk mixture and whisk well.

Add wet mixture into the dry and mix until just combined, then fold in the blueberries gently to avoid turning your batter grey.

Divide the batter between the 12 liners and bake for 25-30 mins, until muffins are light brown on top.

3 thoughts on “Blueberry Muffins

    • Stop it, you’ll make me blush! Taking the photos during the day helps a lot, considering I’m stuck with using my phone camera, unfortunately I do most cooking at night 😦

  1. Pingback: Blueberry Banana Muffins with Crumble Topping | Not for Coco

Leave a Reply

