Crack Cookies

IMG_0295[1]

Is the name slightly inappropriate? Possibly. But that’s what these cookies are called around these parts and I wouldn’t think of calling them anything else. They have earned this nickname for the fact that certain people (who claim to not like chocolate) find them irresistible. This recipe began it’s life as the first cookies I ever baked and this is their latest reincarnation. It was the Chocolate Chip Recipe from the Woman’s Weekly Big Book of Beautiful Biscuits, pretty much the first recipe book I ever baked from. I cut my teeth on cookies and chocolate slice but what I really loved was flipping through the pages and just imagining the food. When I look at it now I have to laugh at the typical 80’s photography and food styling but it will always have a special little place in my heart, right next to Zooper Doopers and Melody Pops.

IMG_0294[1]

Most recipes for choc chip cookies are pretty conservative on the choc chip front but not these ones, they have a whole 1 1/2 packets squashed in there. This guarantees that every cookie has its fair share of chocolate and there isn’t a little pile of chocolate-less cookies left in the bottom of your cookie jar. Those cookies always make me sad.

I frequently change between dark, milk and white chocolate chips for this recipe but a favourite seems to be a mix of all three. It’s also a great way to use up any leftover choc chips or bars of chocolate you have languishing in your cupboard. The original recipe says to cook for 10-15 mins but I am a chewy cookie gal so I’ve found that 10 mins in my oven results in my perfect cookie. Start off with 10 mins and slowly increase the time to decide how you best like your cookies.

I use my mini ice-cream scoop to portion out the dough and I think I would end up in the fetal position if I ever had to roll out cookies by hand again. The cookies end up larger this way, so stick to hand rolling if you want to have the 45 little cookies that the original recipe makes. I don’t think that I ever made it to 45 when I used to roll them by hand, I would get sick of it and use the remaining dough to create one giant cookie, that I dubbed the Omni-Cookie.

Crack Cookies

Adapted from Choc-Chip Cookies, from the Women’s Weekly Big Book of Beautiful Biscuits.

125g butter, room temperature

1/2 cup caster sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar, lightly packed

1 tsp vanilla essence

1 egg

1 1/2 cups self-raising flour

1/4 cup cocoa

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 packets your choice of choc chips

Preheat oven to 170 C.

Cream together butter, sugars and vanilla until combined.

Beat in the egg and cocoa until combined.

Mix in flour and salt, when combined mix in the choc chips.

Shape teaspoonfuls into balls and place on a lined baking tray, allowing room for spreading.

Bake for 10 – 15 mins depending on cookie preference, shorter for chewy cookies, longer for crunchy cookies.

6 thoughts on “Crack Cookies

  1. Pingback: Almond and White Chocolate Cookies | Not for Coco

  2. Pingback: Salty Malted Choc Chip Cookies | Not for Coco

Leave a Reply

