Nutella Ice-cream

 

nutellaicecream

Every now and then (and becoming more frequent as I spend most of my spare time cruising food blogs for recipes) I’ll come across a food that, no matter how hard I try, I just can’t stay away from it. It’s like highway hypnosis, one minute I’m chilling on the couch or tidying the kitchen then next minute I’m standing at the fridge or freezer digging in. It’s not boredom eating, I do enough of that to be sure of the difference, I literally just want to eat it forever because it tastes so good. This ice-cream fits into this category. I even went so far as to discreetly make a second tub 3 days later to replace the tub I had eaten pretty much by myself.

The original recipe comes from The Sugar Hit and I think the only change I made was to add a splash of Frangelico and increased the salt. If you haven’t already seen it I can’t recommend this site enough. Sarah’s photos are beautiful and her recipes are always so innovative and interesting. I devoured every post when I first came across the blog and now I check it every day, I can’t get enough!

Unfortunately I didn’t give myself enough time to buy little brioche buns to serve the ice-cream in but I’m going to plan ahead next time. And there will be a next time. Anything that I make twice in a week makes it onto my Favourite Food of All Time List. I bought waffle cones to have with my Caramel Popcorn Ice-cream and now I can’t have ice-cream any other way. It’s delicious and it saves you having to wash up a bowl, could it get any better?!

Nutella Ice-cream

Adapted from Sarah’s Nutella Ice Cream in Brioche over at The Sugar Hit.

3 tbsp cream cheese

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup water

1/3 cup caster sugar

1/2 cup cocoa

1 cup Nutella

2 cups milk

1 1/2 tbsp cornflour

1 cup cream

1/2 cup sugar

2 tbsp glucose

Place the cream cheese and salt in a bowl large enough to hold the finished ice-cream mixture, whisk until well combined.

In a small saucepan combine water, cocoa and the first lot of sugar, bring to the boil for 30 seconds.

Whisk the cocoa mixture into the cream cheese slowly, whisking until there are no lumps.

Add the Nutella and stir to combine, set aside.

In a small bowl mix together 1/4 cup of milk with the cornflour to create a slurry. Set aside.

Combine the remaining milk, cream, glucose and the second lot of sugar in a saucepan, bring to the boil for 4 mins (I got impatient and turned it up waaay too high and it may have boiled over a little. Don’t be me).

Remove from the heat, whisk in the cornflour mixture, then return to the heat for 1 minute or until thickened slightly.

Whisk the milk mixture into the Nutella mixture and mix over an ice bath to chill quickly.

Place in the fridge to chill overnight.

Freeze in an ice-cream machine according to manufacturers instructions place in the freezer for at least 4 hours before eating, overnight to be super safe.

2 thoughts on “Nutella Ice-cream

    • Keep an eye out, I’m sure I’ll be trying out more of your recipes in the future 🙂 I have a liquor cabinet full of alcohol that I don’t drink so I try to splash in in wherever possible.

Leave a Reply

